Marshalltown VISTA Sees Financial Aid As Means to Student Career Success

Posted on

Engaging with communities to help create new opportunities for students is a key component of the AmeriCorps VISTA program. As a new school year begins around the state, Iowa College Aid is recognizing a new group of VISTA volunteers working with various community college. Starting her third year of VISTA service, Chelsea White will work with Marshalltown Community College to better connect students with financial aid options and information. She explains her experience with AmeriCorps and her hopes for the new year.

Hello from Marshalltown! My name is Chelsea White and I am currently serving as the Iowa College Aid AmeriCorps VISTA at Marshalltown Community College in Marshalltown, Iowa.

I received my high school diploma in May 2008 from Boone High School in Boone, IA, and went on to graduate from Coe College in May 2012 with my Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science and History with a minor in Theatre Arts. In July 2013, I started my first term as an Iowa Campus Compact AmeriCorps VISTA in the Office of Volunteerism and Service-Learning at Mount Mercy University in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. In July 2014, I started my second term as an Iowa Campus Compact AmeriCorps VISTA at Iowa Wesleyan College and Club M, Henry County Youth Mentoring Program.

This is my third term serving as an AmeriCorps VISTA but my first term as a member with Iowa College Aid. Throughout the course of my next term, I will be engaging the Marshalltown community in the Three Step Process which includes the College Application Campaign, FAFSA Completion Initiative, and College Decision Day in addition to specific projects for Marshalltown Community College pertaining to Financial Literacy and other issues relevant to the student populations where I am serving. I am looking forward to my role in both college access and student success.

I chose to accept this position with Iowa College Aid at Marshalltown Community College because I wanted to further my knowledge of Student Affairs including, but not limited to, the areas of financial aid and career development. I also wanted to have the experience of serving at a community college since my background is at small private liberal arts colleges and universities. My long-term goals include achieving a Master’s degree in Higher Education and beginning a career in Student Affairs.

I’m looking forward to seeing what this year has to offer and for collaboration with the other Iowa College Aid AmeriCorps VISTA members.

Sincerely,
Chelsea White
VISTA College Access Program Coordinator
Marshalltown Community College

Leave a comment

