School Counselors Impact Students In School, Through Life

Posted on

This week, we celebrate the work of school counselors throughout Iowa and the country during National School Counseling Week. This year’s theme, “School Counseling: Helping Students Realize Their Potential,” ties closely with the work done by Iowa College Aid through such initiatives as GEAR UP Iowa.

GEAR UP Iowa Program Coordinator Sprouse knows first-hand the impact that comes with interaction and motivation with students early in their educational career. It’s something that she learned early on as a student and a responsibility that she carries forward in her work building a college-going culture with GEAR UP Iowa students.

NSCW

I went to a small elementary school where many of the teachers and other staff members had been there long enough to teach my parents as well as my siblings and me. While I appreciated that connection, it was exciting when a new guidance counselor started during my 4th grade year. She was young and energetic, and it may have been her first position as a school counselor. Her name was Mary and she was from outside of our close-knit community. I was immediately fascinated by her. Similar to our previous school counselor, Mary came into our classroom at least once a week for guidance lessons. She liked to have us do interactive and role-play activities, something I would normally dread as an introverted student. However, Mary had a way of making everyone feel comfortable and I usually looked forward to her lessons.

My parents went through a divorce when I was in second grade and I only knew two other kids in my class with divorced parents. I was a relatively quiet student in elementary school and that, combined with my split family, made me feel a little disconnected from everyone else. I don’t know if Mary knew that at the time but she didn’t treat me different either way. She was always happy to see every student and she truly cared about each and every one of us.  Thanks to Mary, I finally started feeling a little more confident and I eventually started getting involved in after school activities.

I lost touch with Mary when I started middle school in a different building and she eventually left the district. As luck would have it, our paths crossed again about 20 years later when we worked together at the same college. She knew exactly who I was and she even remembered the names of my three siblings! We both left our positions from the college within a year from each other and I didn’t keep in touch. Ironically, we ran into each other again in our current positions and I am fortunate to collaborate with her every few months.

Mary hasn’t changed much from what I remember in elementary school. She is still one of the most optimistic people I know. Mary’s caring and welcoming personality helped me through a difficult time and I give her a lot of credit for being one of my first role models. I know there are many school counselors just like Mary and I am fortunate to still have her in my life.

